

Ethiopia officially the Federal Democratic Republic of is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It shares borders with Eritrea to the north and northeast, Djibouti and Somalia to the east, Sudan and South Sudan to the west, and Kenya to the south. With over 102 million inhabitants, [3] Ethiopia is the most populous landlocked country in the world and the second-most populous nation on the African continent. It occupies a total area of 1,100,000 square kilometres (420,000 sq mi), and its capital and largest city is Addis Ababa.

Some of the oldest skeletal evidence for anatomically modern humans has been found in Ethiopia. It is widely considered as the region from which modern humans first set out for the Middle East and places beyond. According to linguists, the first Afroasiatic-speaking populations settled in the Horn region during the ensuing Neolithic era. Tracing its roots to the 2nd millennium BC, Ethiopia's governmental system was a monarchy for most of its history. In the first centuries AD, the Kingdom of Aksum maintained a unified civilization in the region, followed by the Ethiopian Empire circa 1137. During the late 19th-century Scramble for Africa, Ethiopia was one of the nations to retain its sovereignty and the only territory in Africa to defeat a European colonial power. Many newly-independent nations on the continent subsequently adopted its flag colours. Ethiopia was also the first independent member from Africa of the 20th-century League of Nations and the United Nations. In 1974, the Ethiopian monarchy under Haile Selassie was overthrown by the Derg, a communist military government backed by the Soviet Union. In 1987, the Derg established the People's Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, but it was overthrown in 1991 by the Ethiopian People's Revolutionary Democratic Front, which has been the ruling political coalition since.

Ethiopia's ancient Ge'ez script (Ethiopic script) is one of the oldest alphabets still in use in the world. The Ethiopian calendar, which is approximately seven years and three months behind the Gregorian calendar, co-exists alongside the Borana calendar. A majority of the population adheres to Christianity (mainly the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church and P'ent'ay), whereas around a third follows Islam (primarily Sunni). The country is the site of the Migration to Abyssinia and the oldest Muslim settlement in Africa at Negash. A substantial population of Ethiopian Jews, known as Bete Israel, also resided in Ethiopia until the 1980s. [20][21] Ethiopia is a multilingual nation with around 80 ethnolinguistic groups, the four largest of which are the Oromo, Amhara, Somali and Tigrayans. Most people in the country speak Afroasiatic languages

of the Cushitic or Semitic branches. Additionally, Omotic languages are spoken by ethnic groups inhabiting the southern regions. Nilo-Saharan languages are also spoken by the nation's Nilotic ethnic minorities.

Ethiopia is the place of origin of the coffee bean, which was first cultivated at Kefa, one of the 14 provinces in the old Ethiopian administration. It is a land of natural contrasts, with its vast fertile west, jungles, and numerous rivers, and the world's hottest settlement of Dallol in its north. The Ethiopian Highlands are the largest continuous mountain ranges in Africa, and the Sof Omar Caves contains the largest cave on the continent. Ethiopia also has the most UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Africa. Additionally, the country is one of the founding members of the UN, the Group of 24 (G-24), the Non-Aligned Movement, G-77 and the Organisation of African Unity. Its capital city Addis Ababa serves as the headquarters of the African Union, the Pan African Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, the African Standby Force, and many of the global NGOs focused on Africa. In the 1970s and 1980s, Ethiopia experienced civil conflicts and communist purges, which hindered its economy. The country has since recovered and now has the largest economy (by GDP) in East and Central Africa. According to Global Fire Power, Ethiopia also has the 41st most powerful military in the world, and the third most powerful in Africa.



Tigray Region is the region in the country where Mekelle University is found. Tigray is the homeland of the Tigrayans, Irob and Kunama peoples. Tigray is also known as Region 1 according to the federal constitution. Its capital is Mek'ele (also spelt Mekelle). Tigray is the 5th largest by area, the 5th most populous, and the 6th most densely populated of the 9 Regional States. The state's capital and largest city is Mekelle.



Mekelle University (MU) is found at the town of Mekelle in Tigray region of Northern Ethiopia, at a distance of 783 Kilometers from the Ethiopian capital. The University has seven colleges: Business and Economics, Dryland Agriculture and Natural Resources, Law and Governance, Social Sciences and Languages, Veterinary Madicine, Natural and Computational Sciences and Health Sciences; and eight institutes: Institute of Pedagogical Sciences, Institute of Paleoenvironment and Heritage Conservation, Ethiopian Institute of Technology-Mekelle, Institute of Water and Environment, Institute of Climate and Society, Institute of Gender, Environment and Development Studies, and Institute of Geo-Information and Earth Observation Sciences. At present MU hosts over 31,000 students in the regular, continuing education programme and summer, evening, distance education and in-service programes in both undergraduate and graduate programmes.

Mekelle University is thus now a government-funded higher institution with an international reputation for teaching and research and with collaborative understanding with national and international sister institutions. Since its establishment, it has proved to be one of the fastest growing Universities in Ethiopia. The fundamental elements of the University's mission are teaching, research and consultancy. Thus, its ultimate goal is to pursue standards of excellence in teaching, research and community service for the betterment of the society.

The Physics department, hosting the workshop, is one of the seven departments in the College of Natural and Computational Sciences. Currently, the department has ~50% PhD above holding staff, significant of them in the areas of Astrophysics, Space, Plasma and Atmospheric.

The Workshop will be specifically hosted in Axum Hotel very close to the main (Endayesus) campus. It is five minutes far from the campus by car.